Advertisement

Hair braiding for Caucasian hair

topic posted Tue, May 30, 2006 - 8:01 PM by  Kiera
Share/Save/Bookmark
I was hoping to get some feedback on Caucasian women getting their hair braided? I am a professional woman who wants a new look for the summer. Do braids break the hair? Are they uncomfortable? Any recommendations out there....
posted by:
Kiera
SF Bay Area
Advertisement
  • Re: Hair braiding for Caucasian hair

Tue, May 30, 2006 - 8:18 PM
    I get my hair braided when I go to the beach for a week or to Pennsic. I have fine hair w/ a tendency to be oily, and if I'm not lugging my products with me it's just not so pretty, and I'm not good at braiding. The braids are tight at first, but they didn't give me a headache or anything. Not much hairbreakage for me; I feel like it gives my hair a rest since I don't have to shampoo it or style it everyday when it's braided. My braids have lasted for about a week before I feel like they look kind of scraggly and I want to get them re-braided to look nice & neat again.

Use sunscreen on your scalp where it's exposed more due to the braids! That's really important. :)

Tue, May 30, 2006 - 9:59 PM
      So you want white-girl braids huh? tee hee

It might help to use some kind of texturizing spray or wax to thicken and roughen up the strands a little. That might make it hold the braids better. Also, if you have any African American hair salons nearby, ask them to assist you, because they are the braiding experts. You'll want to have freshly washed hair so that you won't get tempted to stratch at the braids too much, which make them get messy faster. Also ask a stylish for reccomendations on a product to rub on your scalp and hair (like a lightly oiled braid spray), as well as a product to keep your scalp clean and fresh between the braids if needed (maybe a hair mist or something).

You shouldn't have a problem with breakage, unless:

1) Your braids are too tightly pulled